North Riding FA Grassroots Football Awards - 2020 Shortlist

After over 100 nominations, here is our shortlist for 2020

North Riding FA is delighted to announce that the below nominations have been shortlisted for the Grassroots Football Awards 2020!

We would like to thank everyone who took the time to nominate a local grassroots hero. We had over 100 nominations, all of which were of an outstanding standard. This made picking a shortlist and then an overall winner a very difficult task.

Grassroots Coach of the Year for Youth

Chris Dyson – Strensall Tigers
David Oxley – Scholes Park Raiders
Gary Parker – Riverside Lions Autism FC
James Walters – Linthorpe Academicals 
John Driscoll – North Ormesby
Michael Stimson – Brompton Juniors
Scott Backhouse – York RI   

Grassroots Coach of the Year for Adults

Dean Cairns – York RI 
Martin McGovern – Kader FC
Owen Robson – York St John Men’s University FC

Grassroots Club of the Year

Bootham Girls Futsal Club
Cleveland Juniors
Hamilton Panthers
Kader Football Club
Riverside Lions Autism Fc

Grassroots League of The Year

York & Ryedale Mitchell Sports Football League
Scarborough & District Minor League

Grassroots Volunteer of The Year

Jonathan Smedley – Brompton Juniors
Mark Shields – Huntington
Tim Jennings – Cleveland Juniors
Sam Bell – South Park Rangers
Suzy Collins – Bootham Girls Futsal Club
Yvette Shepherd – York RI

Rising Star of The Year

Chloe Harris – Bedale Juniors
Katerina Samson – Bootham Girls Futsal Club
Lucy Jamieson – TIBS Juniors
Olivia Hall – Yorkshire Coast FC

Grassroots Grounds Team of The Year

Bedale JFC
Marton FC
Thornton Dale FC
York RI AFC 

Grassroots Project of The Year

Catterick Garrison FC – Football in the Community
Scarborough Council & Scarborough Minor League – Smokefree Sidelines
South Park Rangers –SPR Autism Centre
Wigginton Grasshoppers – Pavilion Build

‘We Only Do Positive’ - Respect Award

Carl Waddington – York RI
Chris Hudson – Kader FC
Lynne Taylor – Scholes Park Raiders

Grassroots Match Official of The Year

Andy Kay
Anita Sygmuta
Harvey Websdale 
Lee Hodgkinson
Mark Nassau

Good luck to all our nominees. Our winners will be announced on Friday 3 July, chosen by an independent panel. 

Keep an eye on our website and social media channels for updates and use the hashtag #GrassrootsHeroes to join the conversation.