Congratulations to our 2021 Grassroots Football Award Winners!

Meet our heroes of 2021

North Riding FA has proudly announced its 2021 FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Award winners on social media this week.

The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards are for people who make a positive difference. It’s our way to celebrate the fantastic individuals who put their heart and soul into the grassroots game across North Riding – and say a huge thank you to the incredible volunteers who inspire us all.

This season our grassroots volunteers have adapted to the ever-changing COVID-19 pandemic. They responded quickly to make football happen when they could. And when they couldn’t play they kept players, volunteers and the wider community connected off the pitch.

They demonstrated the true power of football, they stuck together, helped each other across teams, across clubs and showed what the football community could do when faced with uncertainty and an unparalleled situation.


Grassroots Coach of the Year (Youth)

David Oxley (Scholes Park Raiders)

Grassroots Coach of the Year (Adult)

John Walker (Kirklington FC)

Grassroots Club of the Year

York R.I.

Grassroots League of the Year

York and District Youth Football League

Grassroots Volunteer of the Year

Cath McNicol (Middlesbrough Powerchair) 

Grassroots Rising Star of the Year

Emily Sidgwick (Skelton United)

Grounds Team of the Year

Graham Rose (Redcar Town)

Grassroots Project of the Year

Andrew Porter & Jamie Hopwood (Brooklyn JFC)

Grassroots Match Official of the Year

Alan Geddes

The Spirit of Grassroots Football Award

Andy Leadill (Old Malton St Mary’s)

On behalf of everyone at North Riding FA we’d like to say huge congratulations to all of this year’s winners – and a big thank you for all you do for grassroots football in the county.